relaxation - therapy
fr | en



The Koshi chime is an authentic musical instrument, an original creation of high quality. Hand made in our workshop at the foot of the Pyrenean mountains, each chime is the result of meticulous craftsmanship.
Eight chords are welded with silver into the metal plate at the base of the resonance tube. Precise tuning creates a play of clear tones that is rich in overtones. The overtones of the shorter chords gradually dominate and become fundamentals, thus forming a circular tone range.
Move the chime gently holding it by its cord: the crystalline relaxing sound may leave you in quiet wonder. Suspended, it will play with the wind and carry you away in an unexpected melody.


Hello… I am Kabir, the inventor of the world renowned Shanti ® chimes. After many years of success Shanti closed down in 2009.
Since then, with more than 20 years of experience and as ever passionate about musical sound, I have been looking at how to improve on my previous creation. Now I can introduce you to the Koshi chime that has already won the hearts of sound lovers across the planet.

With its resonance box made of bamboo, a material known since prehistoric times for its acoustical quality, the Koshi chime is deeper in sound and richer in overtones. It is primarily a musical instrument but by its sober and elegant design it invites itself into every decor.
I have created 4 new melodies, Terra, Aqua, Aria and Ignis, inspired by the four elements. Each has a specific magic timbre and can be played harmoniously with all the others.
The cylinder, made in our workshop, consists of bamboo veneer and is treated with natural oil.
I have used bamboo veneer as it is much stronger than the natural bamboo. A true “resonance tube” of high acoustic quality is made with thin layers of bamboo. This combined with a new tuning technique gives the sound even more depth and enriches the harmonics.
The diameter of the cylinder is 6,3 cm and the height is 16,5 cm, 4cm longer than the former Shantis.

I would like to share with you this Koshi experience. I invite you to listen to the sounds on our website. Please do not hesitate to write to us.


Ecouter les 4 mélodies:


Ecouter les 4 joués ensemble:


© names and melodies, 2010

shanti carillon